Wednesday 18th, May 2011 / 11:49

What was once seen as outre can now be revealed as foresighted. Both these writers added their unique voices to obscured metaphysics, changed paradigms and pushed the possibilities of their concepts and we are now richer for it.

KENNETH GRANT (1924-2011)
The great occultist and writer Kenneth Grant passed away on January 15th. As well as being the head of several important Thelemic orders, he was also the author of the monumental series “The Typhonian Trilogies”. The opening volume, The Magical Revival, was published in 1972 and the ninth and final volume, The Ninth Arch, appeared in 2002. Grant also wrote other works on the occult, along with collections of poetry, novellas and short stories. For more information, see the excellent obituary in The Independent by Declan O’Neill:

JOSE ARGUELLES (1939-2011)
José Argüelles, the gifted author, artist and event organizer, passed away on March 23rd. As one of the originators of the Earth Day concept, Argüelles founded the first Whole Earth Festival in 1970, in California. He was also responsible for the Harmonic Convergence of 1987, the same year his influential book The Mayan Factor appeared. This was the book that first intoduced the date December 21st, 2012. His other books include Mandala (1972), The Arcturus Probe (1996) and Time and the Technosphere (2002). For more information, see:

Facebook Comments



The Mythic and the Marvellous by Dr. Martin Shaw

In this talk Dr. Martin Shaw presents his new book, “The Night Wages” (Cista Mystica Press, 2019), a rumination on…


Watkins Books: Staff Picks for August

Watkins Books: Staff Picks for August

If you’re looking for some inspiration for your summer reading list but the sun’s just a little too much for…


Recent Articles

Watkins’ Spiritual 100 List for 2019

Watkins’ Spiritual 100 List for 2019

We are delighted to share with you Watkins’ 2019 list of the 100 Most Spiritually Influential Living People – spiritual…

Watkins on the Web

RSS YouTube